Dan “Soupy” Campbell of The Wonder Years Announces New Project – Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties

Bands, Featured — By HopelessMallory on May 22, 2014

We are excited to announce the upcoming release of “We Don’t Have Each Other”, a concept album from Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties, the solo project of The Wonder Years front-man Dan “Soupy” Campbell. The album will be released July 8th, 2014 and was produced by Ace Enders of The Early November at The Living Room.

“I had been thinking a lot over the past year about records like “All Hail West Texas” and “Reunion Tour” where The Mountain Goats and The Weakerthans were able to make me fall in love with the people in their songs,” explains Campbell. “They created such real, whole characters that I found myself invested in their lives and their stories. I then realized that almost every book, every movie, every show that I really love is fiction and that it doesn’t at all effect how deeply I care for the characters.”

“Everything I had ever written lyrically up to this point had been non-fiction. I wanted to push myself to get those same emotions out of a character piece, to make a piece of fiction feel just as raw and personal as songs about my life, and so I created a man named Aaron and I set out to truly understand him. I wanted to know where his parents were from and what God he grew up knowing. I wanted to know what football team breaks his heart every December and if he has it in him to give up smoking. I wanted to know how he got here. I wanted to know how he handled tragedy.”

Fans can watch an in-depth interview with Campbell elaborating more on Aaron West and his experiences writing the album here:

Composed of 10 tracks, “We Don’t Have Each Other” is the story of the worst year of Aaron’s life. “I worked to channel the aforementioned artists as well as The New Amsterdams, Bright Eyes, Lucero and more to create a dynamic record that finds its stride somewhere between the alt-country and Americana that I grew up with, and the punk and emo that’s become my home.”

Songs from the album will see release very soon.

Track Listing:

1. Our Apartment

2. Grapefruit

3. St. Joe Keeps Us Safe

4. Runnin’ Scared

5. Divorce and the American South

6. The Thunderbird Inn

7. Get Me Out Of Here Alive

8. You Ain’t No Saint

9. Carolina Coast

10. Going to Georgia by The Mountain Goats

Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties will be performing a string of dates in July on the upcoming 2014 Vans Warped Tour. To purchase tickets:

July 6th Holmdel, NJ  – PNC Bank Arts Concert Center

July 8th Darien Center, NY – Darien Center, NY – Darien Lake Performing Arts Center

July 9th Scranton, PA – Toyota Pavilion

July 10th Mansfield, MA – Xfinity Center

July 11th Camden, NJ – Susquehanna Bank Center

For more information:

Tags: , , , ,
blog comments powered by Disqus